Boyz back in camp

THE Reggae Boyz are in a four-day camp at the Jamaica Football Federation’s Technical Centre, which started Monday, but without five players who head coach Theodore ‘Tappa’ Whitmore agreed would remain with their local clubs for Sunday’s second-leg Premier League semi-final.

Portmore United’s selectees were initially asked to enter camp on Tuesday after returning from a third-place finish in the Caribbean Football Union Club Championship, which earned them a spot in the first edition of the CONCACAF Champions League-qualifying CONCACAF League.

However, Whitmore gave the nod to the Portmore selectees as well as those from University of the West Indies (UWI) to be released from national training to stay with their clubs for crucial preparations ahead of Sunday’s 3 p.m. match.

UWI will be at home holding a 2-1 advantage over Portmore after defeating the former champions on the road. The winners will face Arnett Gardens, who advanced to the final 3-1 on aggregate over Humble Lion.

Meanwhile, the remainder of the national squad, including first-time call up Rondee Smith of Manchioneal FC (Portland), are preparing for a hectic month of competition:

  • June 13 – International Friendly Peru vs Jamaica at the Stadium Monumental de la Universidad Nacional San August in the city of Arequipa , match time 7:30 p.m. (local time)
  • June 22 – Scotiabank CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup Semi Final, Jamaica v French Guiana
  • July 9 – 2017 Gold Cup Curacao v Jamaica Group Stage
  • July 13 – 2017 Gold Cup Mexico v Jamaica Group Stage
  • July 16 – 2017 Gold Cup Jamaica v El Salvador Group Stage

Training sessions are as follows:

  • Tuesday, May 23 and Wednesday, May 24 – 8 a.m. and 4 p.m
  • Thursday, May 25 – 8 a.m.

** Players Clubs

  1. Damion Hyatt** Arnett Gardens FC
  2. Fabian Reid** Arnett Gardens FC
  3. Omarley Francis Arnett Gardens FC
  4. Shamar Nicholson** Boys Town FC
  5. Jamiel Hardware** Boys Town FC
  6. Alex Marshall** Cavalier SC
  7. Rosario Harriott** Harbour View FC
  8. Fabian Grant** Harbour View FC
  9. Javain Brown** Harbour View FC
  10. Rondee Smith Manchioneal FC
  11. Ladale Ritchie** Montego Bay United FC
  12. Owayne Gordon** Montego Bay United FC
  13. Zachary Wallace** Overseas
  14. Casey Reid** Overseas
  15. Ewan Grandison Portmore United FC
  16. Ricardo Morris Portmore United FC
  17. Michael Binns Portmore United FC
  18. Shawn Genius** Reno FC
  19. Craig Foster** Reno FC
  20. Leonard Rankine** Sandals
  21. Fitzroy Cummings** Sporting Central
  22. Jermaine Johnson** Tivoli Gardens
  23. Tevin Shaw** Tivoli Gardens FC
  24. Amahl Knight** UWI FC
  25. Jamie Robinson** UWI FC
  26. Rodave Murray Waterhouse FC

Source: Jamaica STAR